What our customers say

We love hearing that guests have enjoyed their stay and are blessed with some wonderful reviews ... currently 5/5 on Tripadvisor, 9.8/10 rating on Booking.com, 5/5 Expedia, and 9.5/10 on Trivago... we are rather proud of our little business

Wonderful stay in Kingfisher cottage, everything provided for, including everything for magnificent breakfasts each day. Very tastefully decorated, very comfortable. Right next to the cycleway, and bikes provided. Only minor comment is that the outdoor umbrella could have been bigger! It was so sunny and hot...... would definitely recommend and would definitely visit again

Lorna V, stayed Jan 2019

Very high quality accommodation in a great quiet setting, with easy access to Napier and surrounding area. Tui cottage was the best on our NZ travels so far, very clean, modern and well equipped. Sandra was very friendly and helpful, we have no hesitation in recommending these cottages and would give 5/5 rating for sure.

Rod T, stayed Jan 2019

We stayed in Tui Cottage for two nights - we were with our relatives from the UK. The cottage was lovely - well equipped and private. My cousin loved the garden and spent ages looking at the various plants. A great location to visit Cape Kidnappers, Napier and Hastings. We felt very welcomed. Thank you

Pat R - stayed Nov 2018

We very much enjoyed our four night stay at the Clive Colonial Cottages. It was quiet and peaceful. The cottages are well-equipped and beautifully maintained. It is central to everything we wanted to do in Hawkes Bay.

Kate P, stayed July 2018

A truly wonderful stay! Beautiful location in the small town of Clive. Perfect base for visiting the wineries of Hawke Bay and Napier (all within a 10 minute drive from the cottages). Cottage was clean, comfortable and had everything you need. Sandra and Neil are just wonderful hosts and people - they went out of their way to make sure the cottage accommodated our specific needs and they had great tips on where to go during our 3 night stay. Eggs and brekky supplies for our first morning was a wonderful touch!. We would definitely stay here again!

Jodie M, stayed May 2018

A lovely quiet location, the chalet very clean, well equipped and comfortable, located within lovely garden with giant chess, BBQ and seating. A short walk to the lovely remote pebbled beach. Fresh Lemons and fruit from the orchard, all added to an excellent 5 days stay. Though most of all is the wonderful welcome from Sandra and Neil and their help and advice on the sights and sounds of the area.

Roger E, stayed Feb 2018

We stayed two nights at Clive Colonial Cottages when visiting the Napier / Hawke’s Bay area of New Zealand. The cottage we stayed in, Fantail Cottage, was immaculate. I would offer that Clive Colonial Cottages are perfect for a stay in the Hawke’s Bay area. Great location, well appointed and with a comfortable bed affording the best night’s sleep since leaving home some two weeks before!

David S, stayed Feb 2018

We stayed for 4 nights with three grown adult family members and experienced a tremendous time due to the tranquil nature of the Kingfisher Cottage. Nothing was missed and the cottage had everything you could want. The whole family enjoyed the stay and the closeness of the cottage to the vineyards. Looking forward to staying again!!

Tony K, stayed Feb 2018

We must have stayed at Clive Colonial Cottages a dozen times or more over the years and it never disappoints. Lovely tranquil surroundings, immaculately presented & maintained cottages, if you want a stress free getaway to recharge your batteries then this is the place to be.

Brett J, stayed Jan 2018

All the little extras were a welcome surprise and the cottage was immaculate and tastefully decorated. Very well equipped with a beautiful garden, and communal barbecue facilities which as the weather was wet we did not use, but they looked great and in a pretty garden setting. We did appreciate the excellent selection of DVDs and found the cottage very comfortable. It is in an excellent position to easily reach all the attractions of Hawkes Bay including Cape Kidnappers, and Neil and Sandra were most welcoming and helpful hosts. We had a wonderful stay and would love to return sometime.

Rosemary G, stayed Jan 2018

A beautiful place to stay. Clean and very comfortable, our hosts were so friendly and obliging. They left their own fresh eggs for our breakfast, with bread and orange juice, they really did go the extra mile. We stayed in the Tui cottage, the grounds were gorgeous, we could wander around and there was so much to enjoy in this pretty setting... Close to Hastings and Napier, in a lovely tranquil garden setting. The cottages are very private from each other, it didn't feel like any other motel we have stayed at. We loved it, and we'll be back! thank you....

Alan & Elizabeth D, stayed Dec 2017

Just returned from our stay and can't speak highly enough of the lovely property, all that was thoughtfully supplied and our gracious hosts. Have already recommended to our friends and plan on staying again in the future. Thanks so much!

Karen & Andy, stayed Dec 2017

As a group of five couples we stayed at Clive Colonial Cottages for a weekend away and to ride the trail to the wineries. We couldn't recommend this place more highly. Sandra and Neil have provided many thoughtful touches in the cottages and the beautiful gardens are wonderful. Thank you!!

Wendy A, stayed Nov 2017

Loved the peace and quiet, extras and access to the coast. You went the extra mile for us. Highly recommended.

Yvonne and Bill, stayed Oct 2017

We stayed at the Kingfisher house across the road, and loved it. The hosts were amazing, providing us with fresh eggs, bread when we arrived, and gave us grapefruit from their trees which was so nice. They really took care of us. The house was beautiful. We loved staying there and will definitely be back. Thank you so much for everything!!

Philippa R, stayed Oct 2017

Another marvellous stay at the tranquil cottages. The place is so tidy inside with beautiful cottage gardens and proximity to walking along beach front. Sandra and Neil are so kind and generous. This time we had children with us and they loved the games room/DVD collection. Brilliant!

Fiona & Vince S, stayed March 2017

We have just enjoyed a peaceful, relaxing week at Bellbird cottage while attending our son's wedding in the area. The cottage was very well appointed and our every need was catered for. The beds were very comfortable and we had the best sleep away from home ever. Catered first breakfast was great, farm fresh eggs with fruit and cereal and a great selection of quality spreads and beverages. The hosts were welcoming but not intrusive - we will be recommending this venue to everyone.

Ian and Clare T, stayed march 2017

We loved our stay-the cottage was so comfortable & so well equipped & furnished. The gardens provided privacy and were beautiful.The games(both indoor & out) were a bonus. Wonderful touch to provide breakfast provisions for our first day. Will definitely recommend and stay again. Tripadvisor needs to be informed-another happy guest!!!!!!!

Christina & Luke, stayed March 2017

We had the best stay at the cottage, we were in Fantail, Sandra is the best host. The setting, the room, everything was just perfect. Congratulations on such a great business.

Libby U, stayed March 2017

A very lovely place to stay, peaceful, beautiful surroundings. Service was amazing, breakfast was extra bonus and superb. Very comfortable bed too. Would definitely stay here again.

Christine and Ben, stayed March 2017

If we stay in the area again, we will be heading straight for Bellbird Cottage. Wonderful hosts, beautiful setting, easy access to Hawke's Bay attractions and events. Many thanks for the breakfast supplies and the honey.

Bev & David, stayed Feb 2017

We have finally arrived back to the Mount, now it is time to say how much we enjoyed our stay at The Tui Cottage. You certainly think of everything to make the stay so memorable, from our arrival to departure time. The Cottage is so nicely appointed,to give a homely feel,clean, comfortable & cosy. The fresh farm eggs,butter ,bread & spreads....why would anyone ask for more? The Woodland area is so tranquil. Taking a short walk to the beach is great too, shame we never had time to walk to Black Bridge this visit. We will recommend your property to Friends & Family. All the Best for your future venture. Thanks a bunch.

Elizabeth & Murray, stayed Jan 2017